

COUNCIL OF COMMONWEALTH STUDENT GOVERNMENTS THE PENNSYLVANIA STATE UNIVERSITY

312 HUB-Robeson Center, University Park, PA 16802 (814) 863-0697 - psuccsg.org

C.R. 22.23.12 Elections Committee Amendment

Authors: CRC

Sponsors: Elise DuFour (University Park), Christian Gil (University Park), Jaliesa Quinones (University Park), Aiden Conese (Altoona), Matthew Strupczewski (Behrend), Jessica Gore (Brandywine), Abel Season (University Park), Maria Catalina (Fayette)

Whereas,	The Council of Commonwealth Student Governments (CCSG) represents the concerns of the students attending the campus in matters of a University-wide nature,
Whereas,	under the bylaws of the constitution in section 1: The Election Code, it currently states:
	 i. One (1) graduating Executive Board Member will serve as the Chair a. In the event there isn't a graduating Executive Board Member, the chair shall be appointed by the President b. In either case, the Chair shall be approved by Council by a 2/3 majority vote ii. One (1) Central Staff Member neither on Executive Board nor running for an elected position iii. One (1) Non-CCSG member: Chosen by the Chair of the Election Committee
Whereas,	under the bylaws of the constitution in section 1: The Election Code, it currently states:
	 Two (2) Commonwealth Members Cannot come from the same Commonwealth Campus Cannot be running for an elected position Must be appointed by the President and approved by the Commonwealth Campus Presidents during the Saturday President's Session of the second to last Council meeting.
Whereas,	as we see in the second whereas, it does not specify who appoints the elections

chair outside of the conditions listed in bullet point a, and between the second

and third whereas it only specifies who appoints the commonwealth representatives.

Be it resolved, The Council of Commonwealth Student Government amends the constitution for the implementation of the authority for who appoints the elections committee chair shall fall onto the President requiring 2/3 majority vote from council, and the authority for who appoints the members of elections committee shall fall onto the elections committee shall fall onto the elections committee chair.

Respectfully,

Constitutional Review Committee

Elise DuFour (University Park), Christian Gil (University Park), Jaliesa Quinones (University Park), Aiden Conese (Altoona), Matthew Strupczewski (Behrend), Jessica Gore (Brandywine), Abel Season (University Park), Maria Catalina (Fayette)

Council Action

Vote 37 : 0 : 0 Pass: x Fail: Postponed:

Presidential Action

Approved: <u>X</u> Veto: <u>Date: 11/07/2022</u>

Kara Wright